Husker Sophomore Named to Wade Watch List

Nebraska sophomore Jordan Hooper was one of eight women’s basketball players nationally added to the 2012 Wade Trophy Watch List on Tuesday.
Hooper, a 6-2 forward from Alliance, Neb., has helped power the Huskers to a No. 13 national ranking and a 19-3 overall record in their first season in the Big Ten Conference. The Huskers own an 8-2 conference mark thanks in large part to Hooper’s 20 points and 9.4 rebounds per game.
Hooper ranks second in the Big Ten in scoring and leads the conference in rebounding. She also leads the Big Ten with 10 double-doubles on the season and has scored in double figures in all 22 games this season. Hooper also ranks among the Big Ten leaders with 51 three-pointers made on the season – already the second-highest total by a sophomore in school history. Hooper is one of just six sophomores on the 2012 Wade Watch List.
She is on track to become the first sophomore in school history to reach the 1,000-point scoring mark.
Hooper is one of three Big Ten players added to the 2011-12 State Farm Wade Watch List.
State Farm and the Wade Trophy Coalition present The State Farm Wade Trophy to the nation’s most outstanding NCAA® Division I women’s basketball player each year – one who not only excels athletically but also serves as a positive role model both on and off the court.
The State Farm Wade Watch list will be trimmed to 12 finalists in mid-March. State Farm and the Wade Trophy Coalition will officially announce the State Farm Wade Trophy winner during the WBCA National Convention, held in conjunction with the NCAA® Women’s Final Four® in Denver.
Hooper and the Huskers will be in action at the Devaney Center on Thursday night when Nebraska takes on Michigan. Tip-off between the Huskers and Wolverines is set for 7:05 p.m.
Other players on the watch list include:
Alex Bentley Junior Guard from Penn State

Carolyn Davis Junior Forward from Kansas

Brittney Griner Junior Post from Baylor

Tayler Hill Junior Guard from Ohio State

Samantha Prahalis Senior Guard from Ohio State

Jaime Printy Junior Guard from Iowa

Tyra White Senior Guard from Texas A&M

The Wade Trophy, named after the late, legendary three-time national champion Delta State University head coach Lily Margaret Wade, debuted in 1978 as the first-ever women's national player of the year award in college basketball.

You will need to be logged in to leave a comment.

Please Login

characters left

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited.

Click here to review our Terms of Use.