Decision 2022-Local NEKS results (KNZA)--Hiawatha voters on Tuesday narrowed the field of candidates vying for the position of mayor.

Advancing to the November general election ballot were current city commissioners Becky Shamburg and Brian Shefferd. Shamburg received 605 votes and Shefferd received 271.

Eliminated from the race were Ronnie Calhoon, who received 46 votes, and Randy Thaxton, with 35 votes.

Incumbent Richard Lehmkuhl won the Republican primary race for 1st District Brown County Commissioner by defeating challenger Kenneth A. Pyle. Lehmkuhl received 596 votes to Pyle's, 283.

Lehmkuhl will face Democrat Bill Collins, who currently serves as Hiawatha Mayor, in the November general election.

The Brown County Clerk's Office reported a 45 percent voter turnout.

*In Doniphan County*, voters on Tuesday gave overwhelming approval to the imposition of a countywide one percent retailers sales tax to fund operations of countywide emergency medical services. 1,787 votes were cast in favor of the sales tax to 458 against.

In the race for 1st District Doniphan County Commissioner, incumbent Timothy Collins won the Republican primary race by defeating challenger Brian Ptomey. Collins received 421 votes and Ptomey received 214. Collins will face no Democratic opposition in November.

The Doniphan County Clerk's Office reported a 48 percent voter turnout.

*In Jefferson County*, Doug Walbridge won the Republican primary race for 1st District County Commissioner over Ken Newell. Walbridge received about 59 percent of the vote. He will face no Democratic opposition in November.

*In Marshall County,* Jon Ungerer defeated incumbent Barb Kickhaefer by a vote of 448 to 302 to win the Republican primary race for 1st District Marshall County Commissioner. He will face no Democratic opposition in November.

The results are unofficial until they are canvassed by the county commission's in each county on Monday.

Many Signals Communications