Omicron variant confirmed in local counties

(MSC News)--The Omicron variant of COVID-19 has been confirmed in three local northeast Kansas Counties.

According to the Kansas Department of Health and Environment, three cases of the highly transmissible variant have been confirmed in Leavenworth County, two cases in Jackson County and one case in Nemaha County.

As of Wednesday, 45 cases of the omicron variant have been confirmed in Kansas.

Meanwhile, Kansas is now reporting more than 7,000 deaths from COVID-19 since the pandemic began. Gov. Laura Kelly has ordered flags flown at half-staff until sundown Friday in remembrance of those who have died.

Many Signals Communications