Brown Co added to federal disaster declaration

(KNZA)--Brown County is among seven Kansas counties that have been added to a Presidential Disaster Declaration due to severe storms and flooding earlier this year.

According to a release from the Kansas Adjacent General's Office, the Kansas Division of Emergency Management was notified Tuesday that Governor Laura Kelly's request to add the seven counties for public assistance was approved. Besides Brown, added were the counties of Ness, Osborne, Smith, Stafford, Wallace and Wyandotte.

The Public Assistance program helps pay for restoration of public infrastructure and associated costs caused by flooding and tornado damage.

"With each damage assessment, we are getting a clearer picture of just how much the severe storms and flooding we experienced earlier this year affected Kansans all across the state," Kelly said. "This federal disaster declaration will do much to help these counties restore the roads, bridges and other infrastructure we all depend on."

The approval is an amendment to the major disaster declaration for the State of Kansas, approved by President Donald Trump on June 20.

Many Signals Communications