Prairie Trail Scenic Byway Extended

Kansas Department of Transportation Secretary Mike King recently approved a 24-mile extension of the Prairie Trail Scenic Byway in central Kansas.

The original 56-mile route was designated as a scenic byway in 2007. It begins at Canton in McPherson County then follows county roads north to Roxbury and west to the south I-135/K-4 interchange. It follows K-4 westward to K-141 and then goes north to the K-140/K-141 intersection in Ellsworth County, where it formerly ended. The new extension will take travelers west on K-140 to Ellsworth, then north on K-156 to I-70.

"The Kansas Byway Committee is excited about extending the Prairie Trail Scenic Byway to 80 miles because it highlights many of the scenic and historical features from Canton to I-70," said Sue Stringer, KDWPT Kansas Byways and Agritourism Manager. "We commend the grassroots Prairie Trail committee for realizing what this area of central Kansas offers the traveler and for working together to develop their corridor management plan to protect, preserve and market their communities through the Kansas Byway program."

The Prairie Trail Scenic Byway showcases a number of scenic and historic locations. Travelers can see bison at Maxwell Wildlife Refuge and visit Roxbury, Lindsborg, Marquette, Kanopolis State Park and Reservoir, Mushroom Rock State Park and Ellsworth, a prominent city along a branch of the historic Great Western Trail. The terrain features rolling hills punctuated by dramatic views and rocky outcrops. It is one of 11 scenic or historic byways in the state, a figure that includes two national scenic byways.

The Kansas Byway program is jointly managed by KDOT and the Kansas Department of Wildlife, Parks and Tourism (KDWPT). The Kansas State Historical Society and the Federal Highway Administration also participate on the Kansas Byway Committee which oversees the program.

For more information about Kansas Byways, visit KSByways.com.