New Falls City School Board Members Take Oath of Office

(KLZA)-- Two new Board members took the oath of office at the start of the Falls City Board of Education meeting Monday night. June Bowers and Richard Malcolm were sworn in. Malcolm served a term previously on the District 56 Board from 1980 to 1983.

Ed Harris was elected Board President for 2015 and Scott Huppert was elected Vice President.

Scott Hollens was appointed to the Project Committee joining Board members John Martin and Scott Huppert. Bowers was appointed to the Negotiations Committee and the Falls City Public School Education Foundation. Malcolm was appointed to the Policy Committee.

The Board approved a negotiated agreement with the Falls City Teachers Association, which increases base pay by \$440 to \$33,500 for a new teacher for the 2015-16 school year and leaves the health insurance plan with the same \$750 deductible rate.

The Board also voted to leave the hiring incentive rate for new teachers at \$3,000 for another year. Last year the amount was increased by \$1,000. The incentive pay is intended to help District 56 attract quality applicants for job openings in the District.

Many Signals Communications