Disaster Declaration for Nebraska Counties Due to Drought (KLZA) Nebraska Farm Service Agency (FSA) Executive Director, Dan Steinkruger, has announced 89 counties have been designated as primary natural disaster areas due to the ongoing drought affecting Nebraska. Among the counties includes are: Johnson, Gage, Otoe and Jefferson.

These counties were declared a Secretarial Disaster on April 10, 2013, based on the U. S. Drought Monitor drought intensity value. "The 89 counties that received the Primary Secretarial Disaster Designation have a drought intensity value of extreme (D3) or exceptional (D4)." said Steinkruger.

At this time there are four counties in Nebraska that have not been declared a Secretarial Disaster. These counties are contiguous to counties that have received the declaration and are also eligible for certain disaster assistance due to drought. The four counties are: Richardson, Nemaha, Pawnee and Nuckolls.

This designation authorizes Emergency (EM) Loans for eligible producers. Steinkruger stated, "Producers are encouraged to contact their local FSA Service Center for detailed information about available programs and updated Secretarial Disaster Designations."

In addition to the Emergency (EM) Loan Program, the FSA has other loan programs and disaster assistance programs which can be considered in assisting farmers to recover from their losses.

Contact your local FSA Service Center or access additional information about FSA Disaster Assistance and Farm Loan programs at www.fsa.usda.gov.

While this release pertains to the availability of FSA programs, other federal agencies such as FEMA (Federal Emergency Management Agency) and SBA (Small Business Administration) may also have assistance to the public. Information is available from these two agencies at the following websites: www.fema.gov and www.sba.gov.

Many Signals Communications