47 Additional Nebraska Counties Declared Disaster Area's

(KLZA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) State Executive Director, Dan Steinkruger, announced that an additional 47 counties have been designated as primary natural disaster areas due to the ongoing drought affecting Nebraska. Those counties are:

Antelope Arthur Banner Blaine Box Butte Brown Buffalo

Cedar Chase Cherry Chevenne Dawes Dawson Deuel

Dixon Franklin Garden Garfield Gosper Grant Hall

Harlan Holt Hooker Kearney Keith Keya Paha Kimball

Knox Lincoln Logan Loup McPherson Madison Morrill

Perkins Phelps Pierce Platte Rock Scotts Bluff Sheridan

Sioux Stanton Thomas Wayne Wheeler

This brings the total number of Nebraska counties with a primary designation to 61. In addition, the following 23 contiguous counties also become eligible for disaster programs:

Adams Boone Boyd Butler Clay Colfax Cuming

Custer Dakota Dundy Frontier Furnas Greeley Hamilton

Hayes Howard Merrick Nance Polk Sherman Thurston

Valley Webster

A current Nebraska map listing the approved counties is available on the Nebraska FSA website at www.fsa.usda.gov/ne.

Based on Secretarial Designations in Iowa and Missouri, there are five (5) additional counties that are contiguous and eligible for disaster programs. They are:

Burt Nemaha Otoe Richardson Washington

In response to the expanding ongoing drought conditions affecting crop and livestock producers across Nebraska, USDA has implemented various actions and programs. Specifically, certain counties have been allowed to emergency hay and graze CRP acres and Emergency (EM) Loans are authorized for eligible producers. Steinkruger stated, "As conditions continue to deteriorate, producers are encouraged to contact their local FSA Service Center for detailed information about available programs and updated Secretarial disaster designations."

USDA has expanded emergency haying and grazing provisions to allow an additional 200,000 CRP acres of Grass Waterway, Wetland Restoration (Floodplain and Non-Floodplain) and Farmable Wetland Pilot (Wetland and Buffer) practices. In addition haying is allowed on Rare and Declining Habitat (Prairie Restoration) practices. Haying is limited to 50 percent of the acres and grazing is limited to 75 percent of the acres (or reduced stocking rate). There is a 10 percent payment reduction for acres hayed or grazed.

In addition to the Emergency (EM) Loan Program, the FSA has other loan programs and disaster assistance programs which can be considered in assisting farmers to recover from their losses. Contact your local FSA Service Center or access additional information about FSA Disaster Assistance and Farm Loan programs at www.fsa.usda.gov.

While this release pertains to the availability of FSA programs, other federal agencies such as FEMA (Federal Emergency Management Agency) and SBA (Small Business Administration) may also have assistance to the public. Information is available from these two agencies at the following

websites: www.fema.gov and www.sba.gov.

Many Signals Communications