Doak Walker Award Candiates Announced

The PwC SMU Athletic Forum announced today the preseason candidates for the 2012 Doak Walker Award. The award is presented annually to the nation's top college running back.

The field of 52 candidates is highlighted by 2011 Doak Walker Award finalist Montee Ball from the University of Wisconsin. Ball, a senior from Wentzville, Missouri, led the nation in rushing yards and scoring last season. Other nominees include 2011 semifinalists Rex Burkhead (Nebraska), Zach Line (SMU) and Joseph Randle (Oklahoma State).

Nominations for the award will be accepted through October. The complete list of candidates, who were nominated by their universities, follows:

Rex Burkhead (Sr.), Nebraska; Montee Ball (Sr.), Wisconsin; Le'Veon Bell (Jr.), Michigan State; Jordan Hall (Sr.), Ohio State; John Hubert (Jr.), Kansas State; Joseph Randle (Jr.), Oklahoma State; Silas Redd (Jr.), Penn State; Fitzgerald Toussaint (Jr.), Michigan; James White (Jr.), Iowa State; James White (Jr.), Wisconsin

Many Signals Communications