http://www.MSCNews.net/news/index.cfm?nk=14496

More KS Counties Named Possible Disaster Areas

(KNZA)--Kansas State Emergency Board Chairman Adrian Polansky is recommending that Governor Sam Brownback request that 37 additional Kansas counties be declared as disaster areas due, in part, to drought.

The request would be made to USDA Secretary Tom Vilsack, and would include, locally, the counties of Atchison, Brown, Doniphan, Jackson, Jefferson, Leavenworth, Nemaha and Pottawatomie.

The recommendation follows the State Emergency Board's review, and verification, of at least a 30-percent loss of one or more crops due to drought, extreme heat, high winds and wildfire plaguing a large portion of the state.

If Brownback makes the recommendation, and Vilsack approves the disaster designation, qualifying producers in the affected counties would be eligible for USDA-FSA emergency loans.

Many Signals Communications