Southeast Nebraska Primary Election Results

Dan Watermeier, a farmer from the Syracuse area and Jerry Joy of Stella who is chairman of the Village Board and former Peru State College Administrator have advanced to the November General election as they try to become the next Nebraska 1st District State Senator. They were far and away to top two in ballots cast in Tuesday's primary election.

Voter turnouts were unimpressive in Southeast Nebraska Tuesday.

In another race that had votes cast in Richardson, Pawnee, Nemaha and Johnson counties, six of the eight candidates for the Humboldt-Table Rock – Steinauer school board advanced including three of the four incumbents who ran. Rock Herr received the most votes with 398, Mike Bredemeier was second with 355, incumbent Ben Steffen was third with 324, Corey Hain was fourth with 307, incumbents Joe Standerford 298 and Sandy Stalder 271 will also advance.

Knocked out of the race were incumbent Allen Fankhauser receiving 254 votes and Todd Binder who received 224.

Other election results include by county:

Richardson: District III County Commissioner Republican ticket: James Standerford 369; write-in candidate Phil Fischer 38 votes.

Humboldt Ward 2 Council race Crystal Dunekacke has advanced to the general election with 79 votes. Also advancing is John D. Cooper with 23 votes.

Pawnee County: In the District 1 Republican County Commission race Dennis Schaardt defeated Gregg Clement 113 - 59. Schaardt will advance to the General Election but no Democrats ran for office.

Nemaha County: In the District II County Commission race on the Republican ticket current Commissioner Dennis Wittmann received 136 votes, B. Dan Gerdes received 130 and Ross Helms 42. Wittmann will advance barring any changes following the canvass of the votes.

In the Auburn City Council races in Ward I Thomas Clark received 107 votes and will advance along with Dennis Goering with 68 votes. Anthony Johnson received 46.

In Ward III Jeffrey Jeanneret received 141 votes, Chris Erickson 72 and Mitch Bishop 52. Jeanneret and Erickson will face off in November.

Johnson County: In the District II County Commission race Ted Evans defeated Larry Kuhl 146 – 91 to win the Republican nomination.

Sterling voters approved a 1-percent sales tax 467 - 53 and the Johnson County Lottery proposal passed 683 - 281.

In the Tecumseh Ward II Council race Larry Carmine received 75 votes, he will advance to November and run against Lavern Bartels who received 35 votes. Bob Bowen received 5 votes. In the Nebraska Republican Senate race State Senator Deb Fischer defeated Attorney General Jon Bruning and State Treasurer Don Stenberg to win the nomination.

MSC News