3 area teachers Horizon Award winners

(KNZA)--Three area teachers are among thirty-two Kansas educators being recognized for their outstanding teaching skills through the 2020 Kansas Horizon Award program.

The 2020 Kansas Horizon Award recipients were announced Tuesday by the Kansas State Department of Education.

Among the recipients are Hiawatha Elementary School teacher Scotti Twombly Hanf, Oskaloosa Elementary School teacher Allison Flinn and McLouth Middle/High School teacher Tristan Bartley.

According to a release from the state Department of Education, the first-year educators will be honored at a special ceremony during the Kansas Exemplary Educators Network State Education Conference on February 14 in Topeka.

The Kansas Horizon Award program, sponsored by KSDE, allows all school districts in the state an opportunity to nominate one elementary and one secondary teacher for the award. To be eligble for the award, teachers must have successfully completed their first year of teaching and have performed in such a way as to distinguish themselves as outstanding.

The program is a regional competition with four regions corresponding to the state's U.S. Congressional districts. Four elementary and four secondary classroom teachers may be selected for the award from each region.

Recipients of the 2020 Kansas Horizon Award were notified of their selection by Kansas Commissioner of Education Dr. Randy Watson.

Many Signals Communications