Safe Kids Kansas to Recognize Childhood Injury Prevention Advocates

Safe Kids Kansas will present their Annual Awards Tuesday, December 3 at 1:30 p.m. The awards recognize outstanding contributions by individuals, coalitions and agencies in reducing unintentional injury to Kansas children. The awards will be held at the Kansas Soybean Association, 1000 SW Red Oaks Place in Topeka. All media are invited to attend.

Their highest honor, the Dr. Dennis Cooley Award of Excellence, goes to an individual in recognition of his or her exceptional contribution in the field of childhood injury prevention in Kansas. This year's award goes to Lori Haskett, currently with the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, Region 7.

Safe Kids Kansas will also present the following awards during their annual meeting:

**Outstanding Partnership for Child Safety (two awards being presented)** 

- Charlie's House, Johnson County
- McCarthy Chevrolet, Johnson County

**Outstanding Coalition Organization (two awards being presented)** 

- KDHE Bureau of Family Health Special Health Care Needs
- Kiowa County EMS

Coalition of the Year – Safe Kids Prairie Band Potawatomi Nation

Service Recognition Awards -

- Rachel Ault, Stormont Vail Health and Safe Kids Shawnee County
- Philip Harris, KDHE Bureau of Health Promotion
- Heather Bouldrey, Volunteer for Safe Kids Johnson County