Richardson County FSA Committee election underway

(Falls City, Nebraska) – Richardson County Farm Service Agency (FSA) Executive Director Brenda Fields announced the 2019 FSA Richardson County Committee election began on Nov. 4, when ballots were mailed to eligible voters.

The deadline to return the ballots to the county FSA office is Dec. 2, 2019. Ballots returned by mail also must be postmarked no later than that date.

County committee members are an important component of the operations of FSA and provide a link between the agricultural community and the United States Department of Agriculture. Farmers and ranchers elected to county committees help deliver FSA programs at the local level. FSA committees operate within official regulations designed to carry out federal laws.

To be an eligible voter, farmers and ranchers must participate or cooperate in an FSA program.

Eligible voters in Local Administrative Area (LAA) 3 who do not receive a ballot can obtain one from the county FSA office. LAA 3 is generally located in East Muddy, Barada, Arago, Jefferson, and Rulo Townships.

The candidates in this year's election are:

Michael L. Garriott is nominated in LAA 3, Richardson County, to serve as a committee member for a 3-year term. Garriott resides in Falls City and has managed CRP for 19 years. He is an active member of Pheasants Forever, Ducks Unlimited, and the North American Versatile Hunting Dog Association (NAVHDA).

Andrew Johansen is nominated in LAA 3, Richardson County, to serve as a committee member for a 3-year term. Johansen resides in Rulo and has produced corn, soybeans, and popcorn for 17 years.

Gabriel Ramsey is nominated in LAA 3, Richardson County, to serve as a committee member for a 3-year term. Ramsey resides in Falls City and has produced corn, soybeans, and has had a livestock operation for 16 years. He is an active member the NRA and of the FFA Alumni Association.

Kyle Wilhelm is nominated in LAA 3, Richardson County, to serve as a committee member for a 3-year term. Wilhelm resides in Shubert and has produced corn, soybeans, alfalfa, and has had a livestock operation for 12 years. He is an active member of Nebraska Farm Bureau, Falls City FFA Alumni Association, and Nebraska Corn Growers Association.

Denise Yount is nominated in LAA 3, Richardson County, to serve as a committee

member for a 3-year term. Yount resides in Shubert. She has produced corn and soybeans for 30 years. She has produced alfalfa and has had a livestock operation for 15 years.

Newly elected committee members will take office Jan. 1, 2020. More information on county committees can be found on the FSA website at www.fsa.usda.gov/elections or at the county FSA office.

Many Signals Communications