KS disaster declaration expands

(KAIR)--Jefferson County is added to the list of Kansas counties included in a state disaster declaration signed May 9 by Kansas Governor Laura Kelly.

Jefferson joins Doniphan and Pottawatomie as the three local area counties included among the total of 43.

The included counties have all been affected by spring flooding.

The declaration authorizes the use of state resources and personnel to assist with response and recovery operations in affected counties that meet certain criteria.

According to a release issued by the Kansas Adjutant General's Department, the state declaration may be further amended to include any additional counties that experience flooding

Kelly, in the release, also cites Tuesday's severe thunderstorms that impacted the state as an example of the state's dangerous weather, and notes that more rain and severe weather is expected in coming days.

The release said tornadoes were confirmed Tuesday night in the local area counties of Atchison, Jackson, and Nemaha.

Many Signals Communications