Disaster declaration made for Missouri

ST. LOUIS (AP) - President Donald Trump has declared a major disaster for 13 Missouri counties damaged by March flooding.

The declaration was announced Monday night. It includes the northwest Missouri counties of Andrew, Atchison, Buchanan, Holt and Platte.

Republican Gov. Mike Parson requested the declaration in April, before a second round of flooding earlier this month caused significant damage in eastern Missouri, particularly along the Mississippi River.

The disaster declaration makes federal aid available to help repair roads, bridges and other public infrastructure. Most of the counties are in northwestern Missouri, where the Missouri River reached near-record levels in March. A few are in southeast Missouri.

Heavy snow melt from the north and significant spring rains have led to waves of flooding in Missouri. With strong storms predicted through Tuesday, forecasters expect rivers to rise again in the coming days.

Associated Press