Conservation District will hold 71st Annual Meeting

The Nemaha County Conservation District will hold their 71st Annual Meeting on Thursday, February 15, 2018, at the Nemaha County Community Building in Seneca. The public is invited to attend. A free meal, furnished by the Nemaha County Bankers Association, will be served from 6 to 7 p.m. The business meeting will begin at 7 p.m.

An election of two supervisors of the Nemaha County Conservation District Board will be held. The term of office for James Dobbins and Marya Haverkamp will expire. Other current board members are, Mike Schmitz, Ken Kramer and Aaron Georg. Prizes will be presented to the winners of the conservation district's poster and limerick contests; as well as state awards.

Ron & Chantel Heinen will be presented the Kansas Bankers Association's Soil Conservation Award, Lane & Carol Deters will receive the Windbreak Award, and Kevin Kramer will receive the Grassland Award. The Buffer Award will be presented to Matt & Barb Bachman and Darrin & Cheryl Deters will receive the Water Quality Award. The Nemaha County Chapter of Pheasants Forever will present Bob & Nadine Champlin the Wildlife Habitat Award. If you need special assistance please contact us at 785-336-2186x110