Voters across the region decided races Tuesday

(MSC News)--Voters in USD 380 Tuesday rejected a \$1.35 million bond issue to fund safety and security improvements at the district's three attendance centers.

342 votes were cast in favor of the bond issue, with 509 votes against.

USD 380 voters in August turned down an \$8.25 million bond issue that included other building projects in addition to the safety and security improvements.

Two Horton City Commissioners won election to another term Tuesday.

Finance Commissioner Ken Krug defeated challenger David Kooser.

Street and Utilities Commissioner Wade Edwards defeated challenger Bobby Bacon.

There were three contested race for the South Brown County USD 430 Board. Katelyn Ross won election to position 4; Jamie Bottom to position 5 and incumbent Jacob Bruning was re-elected to position 6.

In Doniphan County contested races Tuesday, elected to the Doniphan West USD 111 Board in District 2 were incumbent Carla Johnson, Jeff Albers and incumbent Brad Holzhey.

Elected to the Riverside USD 114 Board in District 2 were Chris Hewins, Jennifer Davis and incumbent Barbara Derrick.

Elected to two open positions on the Elwood City Council were incumbent Dennis Smith and Dennis Muse.

Winning election to the Highland City Council were incumbent Charles Batchelder, Rocky Ruhnke and incumbent Jesse Marriott.

Elected to the Troy City Council were incumbent Tim Hanlan, Carolyn Clary and Stan Ruhnke.

Denton Mayor Melvin Massey defeated his challenger Steve Davis to win another term.

The results are unofficial until the ballots are canvassed Monday.

Contested Jefferson County races included position 6 on the Jefferson County

North USD 339 Board of Education.

Jim Bodenheimer took the win, defeating Kara Beletsky.

In the race for position 4 on the Jefferson County West USD 340 Board of Education, Christopher Feurborn gained the support of voters, defeating Morgan Hall and Jim Malloy.

For position 6 on the board, David Jensen secured the win, defeating Rhonda Sayles.

For posistion 5 on the Oskaloosa USD 341 Board of Education, Jana Farmer was declared the winner over Jim Guilfoyle, while Ken Newell defeated Hal Taliaferro for position 6.

In the race for position 2 on the Perry USD 343 Board of Education, DeAnn Hupe-Seib defeated Brian Damme, while Ryan Blosser defeated Jarae Essman for position 4, and Nick Fergus took the win over Stephanie Confer for position 6.

In Jackson County, Ed Rostetter won re-election to position 5 on the Jackson Heights USD 335 Board. Rostetter defeated challenger Robert Mock by a vote 117 to 49.

Royal Valley school board member Jeff Stithem was defeated in his bid for re-election to position 5 on the board by challenger Nathan McAlister by a vote of 257 to 166.

In unofficial results from contested races in Marshall County, Carla Grund was re-elected to another term as Marysville mayor. She defeated former city administrator Rick Shain by a more than 280 vote margin.

Three new members were elected to the Marysville City Council---Terry Hughes, Ward 2; Jason Barnes, Ward 3; and Diane Schroller, Ward 4.

Marysville school board member Chris Denner defeated his challenger, Tamara Antoine, to win another term on the board.

Sharon Osborne was re-elected to the Valley Heights school board.

There will be a new Waterville mayor as Josh Stoudt defeated incumbent Don King.

Elected to the Waterville City Council were Rich Anderson and incumbent Alex Nolte.

In contested Leavenworth County races, Jerry Barnes defeated Oscar Miller 140 to 109 in the position 4 race for Easton USD 449.

For positon 6, John McEvoy defeated Dawn Weston 173 to 72.

Many Signals Communicatons