Hiawatha Brick Streets Committee Appointed; Tree Board

(KNZA)--The Hiawatha City Commission has appointed seven residents to a committee that will help determine the fate of the downtown brick streets.

Appointed to the advisory committee Monday evening were Kay Rankin, Ian Schuetz, Jim Brennan, Terri Smith, Ben Benson, Dr. Bryon Bigham and Linda Jimeson.

Mayor Steffen Shamburg says the committee will be asked to attend the next meeting to be given direction.

He said one of the first things he would like to see the committee do is to develop a brief questionnaire to be included with water bills to get local opinion on what residents want to do with the brick streets.

Shamburg says he expects the committee will meet a couple of months before coming back to the Commission with a recommendation.

Hiawatha voters in November approved a half-cent retailers sales tax to fund street improvements. The sales tax is to take effect April 1st, 2017 and be in effect for 30 years.

Also Monday evening the Commission appointed five residents to staggering terms on the newly re-established Hiawatha Tree Board.

They include Nick Haedt, Kyle Nelson, Dave Middendorf, Elaine Schilling and Glenda Rieger.

Haedt, a local arborist, proposed at the Commission's November 21st meeting that the Board be re-established.

Many Signals Communications