Governor Signs Disaster Proclamation for 44 KS Counties

(MSC News)--Governor Sam Brownback has signed a disaster proclamation for 44 Kansas counties due to damages to public infrastructure caused by recent storms and flooding.

Among the counties named in the declaration are Doniphan, Jefferson, Leavenworth, and Nemaha.

Brownback says the proclamation, which was signed Friday, will begin the process of helping the counties affected by severe weather to identify damages and begin restoring vital infrastructure.

Brownback also formally requested joint preliminary damage assessments be conducted with FEMA to determine eligibility for the federal public assistance program.

The program provides assistance for debris removal, emergency protective measures, and permanent restoration of infrastructure.

Many Signals Communications