Falls City Council Extends Agreement With EDGE

(KLZA)-- The Falls City Council voted unanimously Monday night to renew a Memorandum of Understanding with Economic Development and Growth Enterprise Inc. to work together to market the community as a preferred location for businesses to locate.

The City will contribute monetary support to EDGE in monthly payments not to exceed \$120,000 for each year of the agreement. The new agreement will be in effect through December 31, 2017.

Mayor Jerry Oliver reported the Nemaha NRD Board of Directors has approved the City well permit application for a new water well south of Rulo near the Water Plant. A land swap with an adjacent landowner is to be completed by the end of the week. Under the plan eight of the 11 wells will be taken out of service and three will be used as backups to the new well.

The appointment of a 4th Ward Council Person was tabled. Mayor Oliver plans to appoint Anthony Nussbaum to the vacant seat, but he needs to have his voter registration up to date before he can serve.

The Council approved several requests to use Prichard Auditorium events and allow alcohol to be served. Each vote was five in favor and two against with Council Members Judy Murphy and John Vaughn casting the nay votes.

Approval was given to a bid from Hays Siding and Construction for a housing rehab project in an amount of \$24,995. Approval was also given to increasing the Southeast Nebraska Development District administrative fee by \$4,000 to \$29,000 for the HUD Grant funds. The City is going to have enough money left to do two additional rehabilitation projects with the funds.

The various Board appointments by Mayor Oliver were unanimously approved.

Fire Retirement Committee – Kenny Simpson – replacing Ralph Gilkerson.

Planning Commission – Lillian Cromer, John Martin.

CRA -Charlie Radatz and Kevin Malone.

Citizens Advisory Committee – John Nixon

Board of Adjustment – Gary Nelson, Neal Parson, Sandy Hartman and Dennis Hullman.

Board of Electrical Examiners – Gary Jorn, Ken Arnold, Pat Stamper, Alan Romine.

Boar of Health – Chief of Police Duane Armbruster, Mayor Jerry Oliver, Council President Judy Murphy, City Attorney Mike Dunn, APRN-Gayle Keller.

Board of Plumbing Examiner – Marc Ramsey, Doug Wheeler.

Cemetery Board – Karla Capps, Karl Steel replacing Rod Knaup.

Park Board – Denise Daake, replacing Mike Moore, Jeromie Brown.

Police & Fire Employment Selection Board – John Nixon replacing Paul Weinert.

Tree Board – Eleanor Last.

Housing Board – Ed Harris, Karla Capps, Eleanor Last replacing Cassie Whalen, Kenny Simpson

replacing Adam Morris.

Animal Control Review Board – Duane Armbruster, Danielle Cromer and Julie Phroper.

Many Signals Communications