Local Tribe Elects New Chairperson

(KNZA)--A new Tribal Council Chairperson is elected for the Prairie Band Potawatomi Nation by the tribal membership.

Chosen for the role is Liana Onnen, who replaced four year Chairperson Stephen Ortiz.

Onnen, who has worked for the Prairie Band Potawatomi Nation for 12-years, has served as General Manager of Tribal Operations, Director of Housing and Resources, and has worked on the staff in the Human Resources Department.

Onnen lives in Topeka.

The Tribal Council is comprised of seven members who are elected to staggered four-year terms. Officers including Onnen are Vice Chairperson Joyce Guerrero, Secretary Camilla Chouteau, Treasurer Hattie Mitchell, and three Tribal Council members who are Warren "Junior" Wahweotten, Thomas Wabnum and Carrie O'Toole.

Others recently elected by the tribal membership include Camilla Chouteau, Tribal Council secretary, and Rey Kitchkumme who was re-elected to a seat on the Gaming Commission.

The Prairie Band Potawatomi Nation is headquartered near Mayetta.

One of four-federally recognized tribes that is located in northeast Kansas, the tribe has almost 5,000 tribal members and is a federally recognized sovereign nation.

Many Signals Communications