SE Nebraska Election Results

Tuesday saw a number of local races and ballot measures decided.

In Richardson County, two Commission seats were on the ballot. Incumbent District 2 Commissioner David Sickel retained his seat with 967 votes to 383 for Jimmy Coonce. In District 3, Republican James Standerford defeated Democrat Michael Wintz, 678-to-582. Standerford will replace Bill Ely on the Board after Ely did not seek another term.

Two City Council seats were contested in Falls City. In Ward 1, Mike Dougherty defeated Randy Raney 323 to 154; and in Ward 3, Steve Scholl won another term with 231 votes to 165 for Peggy Davidson. Angie Nolte in Ward 2 and James Wisdom in Ward 4 won uncontested races.

A proposed burning ban in Falls City went up in flames. Voters rejected the ban, with 873 votes against and 771 votes in favor of the proposal.

In Humboldt, the Ward One Council seat goes to Jason James over Chuck Nanninga, 97-to-79; and the Crystal Dunekacke retains the Ward Two council seat over John D. Cooper, 117-to-40.

In Pawnee City, John Dahlgren and Roxann Buman won seats on the City Council. Dahlgren was the top vote-getter with 247, and Buman had 237 votes. Amber Lewis picked up 96 votes, and there were 134 write-in votes for Pawnee City Council.

In Nemaha County Nebraska, there were three city council seats up for grabs in Auburn. In Ward 1, Thomas Clark won with 215 votes to 174 for Dennis Goering; in Ward 2, it was Rick Janssen getting the nod over Frank Critser, 318 to 200; and in Ward 3 Jeffrey Jeanneret won the race with 285 votes to 198 for Chris Erickson.

Brian Maher won a close race for Mayor of Peru with 13 votes to nine for Jay Moran.

Voters in Tecumseh elected Larry Carmine in the Ward Two Council race, with 116 votes to 45 votes for Lavern Bartels.

In northwest Missouri, Richard Burke won the South District Commissioner race in Atchison County with 823 votes, to 679 for Alva Stoner. No other races were contested in either Atchison or Holt County.

For detailed local election results:

In Richardson County:

http://election.mips.me/election_files/Richardson/2012_General_unofficial_results.htm

In Nemaha County Nebraska:

http://election.mips.me/election_files/Nemaha/2012_General_unofficial_results.pdf

MSC News